RSS Feed

the view from saturday

nice old man at farmers market gave me two for the price of one.

:: a nice old man at the farmer’s market gave me two big ol bouquets for the price of one. I also got free range eggs, hippie chocolate milk (don’t worry mom, it’s not raw), some herb plants & a whole bunch of free gardening advice. also, I’d just like to say that the chocolate milk I got was $1/pint… that, my friends, is cheaper than Horizon from Kroger. thankful to live in Mississippi where there’s not as much “cool” associated with healthy/natural, so it remains much more reasonably priced.

:: I was talking with a friend the other day & we agreed that the Olympics & World Cup are some of the only things that get us feeling super patriotic.  I watched the opening ceremonies while babysitting, so I didn’t get the most coesive view of the whole thing… lots of breaks for nail painting & tickling & snacks, but what I saw was wonderful. yay for sports as cultural diplomacy! also in the same vein… this commercial made me bawl, this meme made me laugh a lot, and this is a good summary that touches on the differences between these opening ceremonies & Beijing’s.

:: interesting perspective on the whole Chickfila controversy, from a “secular” source.

:: this whole situation makes me really sad–especially because it’s tied to a church. we’ve come a long, long way. but stuff like this reminds me of how very far we still have to go.

:: my head is exploding with things I want to make. let’s make a tree swing! let’s make an invisible bookshelf! I want to make popsicles! ohhh, what if I glued this to that! makes it hard to focus on the less fun parts of moving, like unpacking & sorting & laundry & doing target returns. ah well… to target I go. but I still really, really want a tree swing.

Leave a Reply

